JA Linux Chess Distros Available

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Harvey Williamson, bob

Jesse Gersenson
Posts: 518
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2011 7:43 am
Contact:

Re: JA Linux Chess Distros Available

Post by Jesse Gersenson » Mon May 06, 2013 10:07 am

steps are
1. install xubuntu (maybe could do this from live cd).
2. customize system

3. add remastersys repository

Code: Select all

sudo nano /etc/apt/sources.list
#Remastersys Precise
 deb http://www.remastersys.com/ubuntu precise main

 #Remastersys Quantal
 deb http://www.remastersys.com/ubuntu quantal main
4. add key

Code: Select all

wget http://www.remastersys.com/ubuntu/remastersys.gpg.key
sudo apt-key add remastersys.gpg.key
rm remastersys.gpg.key
sudo apt-get update
5. install

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install remastersys
6. make iso out of current 'machine'. iso will appear in
/home/remastersys/remastersys/custom-dist.iso

Code: Select all

sudo remastersys dist
!

User avatar
Jim Ablett
Posts: 1327
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 5:56 am
Location: London, England
Contact:

Re: JA Linux Chess Distros Available

Post by Jim Ablett » Mon May 06, 2013 1:07 pm

Jesse Gersenson wrote:steps are
1. install xubuntu (maybe could do this from live cd).
2. customize system

3. add remastersys repository

Code: Select all

sudo nano /etc/apt/sources.list
#Remastersys Precise
 deb http://www.remastersys.com/ubuntu precise main

 #Remastersys Quantal
 deb http://www.remastersys.com/ubuntu quantal main
4. add key

Code: Select all

wget http://www.remastersys.com/ubuntu/remastersys.gpg.key
sudo apt-key add remastersys.gpg.key
rm remastersys.gpg.key
sudo apt-get update
5. install

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install remastersys
6. make iso out of current 'machine'. iso will appear in
/home/remastersys/remastersys/custom-dist.iso

Code: Select all

sudo remastersys dist
!
Looks simple & straightforward in 6 easy steps.
Of course anyone who uses Linux knows it usually ends up being about 600 steps. :)
I messed around with 'remastersys' in the 'Ubuntu 10.10' days but didn't get very far with it.
Still I have a Lubuntu 12.10 64 bit install on one of my machines so I may give it another shot.

Thanks,
Jim

MarcS

Re: JA Linux Chess Distros Available

Post by MarcS » Sat May 11, 2013 2:56 pm

geots wrote:Jim, I don't even run Linux, but this almost makes me want to. I have to tell you this is some fine piece of work.


All the best,

george
You can install Jim's distro on a Virtual Machine (using https://www.virtualbox.org/ for example) and this is what I am going to do.

Jim, any minimun tech requirements for the VM (RAM, disk and so forth)?
Great project BTW, thanks ! :)

User avatar
Jim Ablett
Posts: 1327
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 5:56 am
Location: London, England
Contact:

Re: JA Linux Chess Distros Available

Post by Jim Ablett » Sat May 11, 2013 9:13 pm

MarcS wrote:
geots wrote:Jim, I don't even run Linux, but this almost makes me want to. I have to tell you this is some fine piece of work.


All the best,

george
You can install Jim's distro on a Virtual Machine (using https://www.virtualbox.org/ for example) and this is what I am going to do.

Jim, any minimun tech requirements for the VM (RAM, disk and so forth)?
Great project BTW, thanks ! :)
Hi Marc,

32 bit needs 1gb ram minimum & 64 bit 1.5gb minimum. May work with a little less, I haven't tested.
32 bit version has been updated a little today, adding a little more polish to it with better icons, fonts etc.
Updated 64 bit version which is now based on Lighthouse Pup should be out in a day or so.

Jim.

MarcS

Re: JA Linux Chess Distros Available

Post by MarcS » Sat May 11, 2013 10:04 pm

Jim Ablett wrote:
MarcS wrote:
geots wrote:Jim, I don't even run Linux, but this almost makes me want to. I have to tell you this is some fine piece of work.


All the best,

george
You can install Jim's distro on a Virtual Machine (using https://www.virtualbox.org/ for example) and this is what I am going to do.

Jim, any minimun tech requirements for the VM (RAM, disk and so forth)?
Great project BTW, thanks ! :)
Hi Marc,

32 bit needs 1gb ram minimum & 64 bit 1.5gb minimum. May work with a little less, I haven't tested.
32 bit version has been updated a little today, adding a little more polish to it with better icons, fonts etc.
Updated 64 bit version which is now based on Lighthouse Pup should be out in a day or so.

Jim.
Thanks Jim!

Can't wait to play with it!

Cheers!

User avatar
Jim Ablett
Posts: 1327
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 5:56 am
Location: London, England
Contact:

Re: JA Linux Chess Distros Available

Post by Jim Ablett » Sun May 19, 2013 12:51 am

A new 32 bit version of the distro is out now. I wasn't happy with it so I remastered it again from scratch. It's running sweet now.
I've updated the chess software and some of the engines to the latest versions and added some new chess programs.

Here is a screenshot of final desktop:

Image

Here is 'Lucas Chess' running in 'Wine'

Image

This is 'Tom's Live Chess Viewer' running in 'Wine'. Now I you can follow Graham's fine Chess tournaments live.

Image

http://jimablett.net63.net/chess_755/chess-distros.html

Adam Hair
Posts: 3184
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 8:31 pm
Location: Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina

Re: JA Linux Chess Distros Available

Post by Adam Hair » Sun May 19, 2013 1:39 am

Sweeet! I have one computer configured as dual bootable between Windows XP 64 and Linux Mint. I am now planning to set up my other computer to dual boot between XP and your distro.

Adam Hair
Posts: 3184
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 8:31 pm
Location: Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina

Re: JA Linux Chess Distros Available

Post by Adam Hair » Sun May 19, 2013 1:49 am

I took the liberty of fixing Jim's link.

User avatar
Jim Ablett
Posts: 1327
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 5:56 am
Location: London, England
Contact:

Re: JA Linux Chess Distros Available

Post by Jim Ablett » Sun May 19, 2013 8:51 am

Adam Hair wrote:Sweeet! I have one computer configured as dual bootable between Windows XP 64 and Linux Mint. I am now planning to set up my other computer to dual boot between XP and your distro.

Hi Adam,

That's how i have it installed, dual booting with Windows XP.
I created a 20gb ext4 partition on the drive with a 1gb swap partition & booted the distro from the disc,
then I installed it to the partition using 'frugal install option'. Finally I ran 'Grub for dos'
which finds my XP installation and adds the entry for it automatically into the bootloader.

Jim.

User avatar
Ponti
Posts: 448
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 5:13 am
Location: Curitiba - PR - BRAZIL
Contact:

Re: JA Linux Chess Distros Available

Post by Ponti » Thu May 23, 2013 1:52 am

How can I use it using an USB Flash drive ?
A. Ponti
AMD Ryzen 1800x, Windows 10.
FIDE current ratings: standard 1913, rapid 1931

Post Reply